KEO News Wire

Champions Cup final quintet nominated for European Player of the Year

The five nominees for the European Player of the Year have been announced, with Champions Cup finalists Leinster and Saracens providing the entire quintet.

Holders Leinster booked their place in a second successive final with a 30-12 win over Toulouse on Sunday and hooker Sean Cronin, prop Tadhg Furlong and centre Garry Ringrose are all in line to win European Professional Club Rugby’s top individual prize.

As are Saracens front-row Mako Vunipola and full-back Alex Goode, who were both part of the XV that started Saturday’s 32-16 semi-final victory against Munster.

Runaway leaders atop Pro14 Conference B, Leinster are eyeing the double while Saracens, sitting second in the Premiership, are doing likewise.

Sean O’Brien and Rob Kearney, in 2011 and 2012 respectively, have previously claimed the award for Leinster, while Sarries boast former winners in Maro Itoje (2016) and Owen Farrell (2017).

This year’s victor will be announced following next month’s Champions Cup final at St James’ Park. News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *