International Rugby, Springboks

Shields in for England as Robshaw is dropped

Eddie Jones has backed Hurricanes loose forward and captain Brad Shields to start against South Africa in Bloemfontein, after playing his first test for England off the bench last weekend.

Jones has made two changes to his pack as lock Joe Launcbury’s return to fitness sees him starting immediately, while Shields replaces Chris Robshaw who has been dropped from the match day squad. Mark Wilson fills in for Shields on the bench.

In other changes, Danny Cipriani could be set to make his first test appearance since 2015 as he slots in on the bench.


Starting XV: 15 Elliot Daly, 14 Jonny May, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Owen Farrell (captain), 11 Mike Brown, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Maro Itoje, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola

Substitutes: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Mark Wilson, 20 Nathan Hughes, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Denny Solomona


Related Posts

One thought on “Shields in for England as Robshaw is dropped

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *