KEO News Wire

Henshaw switches to full-back for England showdown

Robbie Henshaw switches to full-back and Josh van der Flier has been named in the Ireland side for the start of their Six Nations title defence against England in Dublin on Saturday.

Henshaw made a swift recovery from a hamstring injury ahead of the tournament and will revert to the number 15 shirt, which he donned at the start of his career for Connacht.

The Leinster man takes up a new role in Joe Schmidt’s side as Rob Kearney is not yet fully fit, so Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose make up the centre pairing.

Van der Flier gets the nod ahead of Sean O’Brien at openside for the champions at Aviva Stadium.

The formidable duo of World Rugby Player of the Year Jonny Sexton and scrum-half Conor Murray link up again.

Cian Healy, captain Rory Best and Tadhg Furlong make up the front row, with Devin Toner joining James Ryan in the second row.

Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander start in the back row for the 2018 Grand Slam winners.


Ireland: Robbie Henshaw, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, Jonny Sexton, Conor Murray; Cian Healy, Rory Best (captain), Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Quinn Roux, Sean O’Brien, John Cooney, Joey Carberry, Jordan Larmour. News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *