History-making brilliant & brave Boks

Siya Kolisi’s Springboks stunned world champions New Zealand 36-34 in Wellington.

The Springboks made 226 tackles & won with just 30 percent of the ball.

The All Blacks scores six tries to South Africa’s five but the difference was Handre Pollard’s goalkicking. Pollard kicked six from seven & Beauden Barrett twice hit the post in succeeding with just two from six.

This was the result South African and world rugby craved. It has restored interest and intrigue in the Rugby Championship and it would have given every one of the chasing pack belief that the All Blacks can be beaten at the 2019 World Cup.

It was only the third Springboks win in the last 18 Tests against the All Blacks. But it was among the most dramatic because it was fashioned on a combination of attacking brilliance & the most courageous of defence.

This is a day to savour in South African rugby – a much overdue day. It is also one to enjoy.

All Blacks captain Kieran Read was insistent on crediting the Springboks.

The Boks, said Read, deserved the win.

All Blacks – Tries: Jordie Barrett, Aaron Smith, Rieko Ioane (2), Codie Taylor, Ardie Savea . Conversions: Beauden Barrett (2).
Springboks – Tries: Aphiwe Dyantyi (2), Willie le Roux, Malcolm Marx, Cheslin Kolbe. Conversions: Handré Pollard (4). Penalty: Pollard.

All Blacks – 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe.
Subs: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Ofa Tuungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Jack Goodhue, 23 Damian McKenzie.

Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Beast Mtawarira, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Francois Louw, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Cheslin Kolbe.