Hougaard the Boks’ fall guy

Scrumhalf Francois Hougaard is the only Springbok to get the axe after the 57 point beating against the All Blacks in Albany.

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee has retained the rest of those players who featured in the Albany annihilation and insisted the Test match was not a reflection of the quality of those players who won five and drew one of the first six Tests in 2017.

Coetzee has also refused to recall overseas-based veterans en-masse and only picked Bath-based specialist opensider Francois Louw. The selection of Louw is appropriate given Jaco Kriel’s season-ending injury.

The Sharks winger S’busiso Nkosi is included in a squad of 30 and Louis Schreuder wins a surprise call-up at scrumhalf.


Forwards (17 players):

Uzair Cassiem, Lood de Jager, Ruan Dreyer, Dan du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth (captain), Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Wilco Louw, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Chiliboy Ralepelle

Backs (13 players):

Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Handré Pollard, Raymond Rhule, Louis Schreuder, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, S’busiso Nkosi.


Related Posts

Stats show rugby still way too white in South Africa
Springboks are disgracefully robbed
Pieter-Steph back to lock as Duane plays 7