7's, International Rugby, Opinions, Springboks

Kiwis are kings of Cape Town as Boks get bronze

New Zealand won a record ninth World Series title in South Africa in what was a record 15th appearance in the final. South Africa had to settle for bronze after losing to New Zealand in the semi-final.

New Zealand, without a tournament win in more than a year, stunned South Africa 19-12 in the semi-final and then smashed Argentina 38-14 in the final.

What made New Zealand’s result the more remarkable is that they lost their tournament opening game 22-0 to the United States. But they fought back to beat Spain 50-0 and Australia 35-12. They then edged England in the quarter-finals before upsetting World Series holders South Africa.

The win against South Africa was the 50th time New Zealand had beaten the Blitzboks, compared to the 27 wins for South Africa.

The Blitzboks, who had beaten the Kiwis in the Dubai final a week earlier, edged Canada 19-17 to take third place.


New Zealand

Tries: Joe Ravouvou, Vilimoni Koroi, Tim Mikkelson, Regan Ware (2), Sione Molia

Conversions: Andrew Knewstubb (3), Isaac Tamaki


Tries: Lautaro Bazan Velez, Luciano Gonzalez

Conversions: Lautaro Bazan Velez (2)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *