KEO News Wire

Kruis ruled out for England as Jones calls up uncapped quartet

England will have to do without George Kruis for their upcoming fixtures against Japan and Australia due to a calf injury.

The Saracens second-rower picked up the problem during Saturday’s 16-15 defeat to New Zealand at Twickenham and was replaced by Charlie Ewels in the second half.

Kruis was not included in a 30-man squad named by Eddie Jones on Tuesday for England’s remaining two November internationals, starting with the visit of Japan this weekend.

Lock Elliott Stooke is selected, along with fellow uncapped trio Ted Hill, who is named as an apprentice player, Nick Schonert and Joe Cokanasiga.

There is no recall for Mike Brown, however, plus there are fitness doubts over Dylan Hartley and Manu Tuilagi, who are dealing with respective thumb and groin injuries.

“Manu came in and did some training on Monday but again we’ll be overcautious with him,” Jones – who previously coached Japan – told Sky Sports.

“He’s about 99 per cent but there’s that last one per cent of top speed that he hasn’t got yet. We’ll just keep monitoring him.

“Dylan is okay. His thumb was sore, he couldn’t grip the scrum properly in the first half, which is why we replaced him at half-time.”

After facing Japan for the first time since 1987, England entertain the Wallabies on November 24.


England squad for Tests against Japan and Australia:

Forwards: Charlie Ewels (Bath), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Zach Mercer (Bath), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Elliott Stooke (Bath), Sam Underhill (Bath), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons).

Backs: Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers). News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *