KEO News Wire

Leinster unchanged as Sarries pick Maitland and Skelton for Champions Cup final

Sean Maitland and Will Skelton have been recalled to Saracens’ line-up for the Champions Cup final against Leinster, who are set to be unchanged from their last-four victory over Toulouse.

The teams for Saturday’s showpiece at St James’ Park were announced on Friday, with defending champions Leinster naming the same XV that beat Toulouse 30-12.

Saracens – champions in 2016 and 2017 – have preferred fit-again Scotland international Maitland to fellow wing David Strettle, who is retiring at the end of the season and has been named on the bench.

The in-form Will Skelton comes in at lock, with Maro Itoje switching to blindside flanker at the expense of Michael Rhodes.

Sixteen of Saracens’ 23-man squad have previously enjoyed Champions Cup success, while James Lowe, Sean O’Brien and Jack Conan are the only members of the Leinster starting line-up who did not begin last year’s final against Racing 92.

Tadhg Furlong will make his 100th Leinster appearance as the Irish side seek a record fifth European crown.


Leinster: Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Johnny Sexton (captain), Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Scott Fardy, Sean O’Brien, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Michael Bent, Rhys Ruddock, Max Deegan, Hugh O’Sullivan, Ross Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin.

Saracens: Alex Goode, Liam Williams, Alex Lozowski, Brad Barritt (captain), Sean Maitland, Owen Farrell, Ben Spencer; Mako Vunipola, Jamie George, Titi Lamositele, Will Skelton, George Kruis, Maro Itoje, Jackson Wray, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Joe Gray, Richard Barrington, Vincent Koch, Nick Isiekwe, Schalk Burger, Richard Wigglesworth, Nick Tompkins, David Strettle. News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *