International Rugby, Springboks

Rassie includes 5 uncapped players in Bok training camp

Salmaan Moerat, Marco van Staden, Damian Willemse, JD Schickerling and Cobus Wiese are the five uncapped players invited to a Springbok training camp in Stellenbosch.

The training camp includes players from the Bulls and Stormers and Rassie Erasmus has confirmed that the Lions and Sharks players will join the camp following the completion of their Super Rugby commitments.

Moerat (lock) and Willemse (flyhalf) both played for the Stormers and Junior Boks this year while Shickerling (lock) and Wiese (flank/lock) also represented SA u20s earlier in their careers. Van Staden has been performing excellently for the Bulls at loose forward in this year’s Super Rugby campaign.

Outside of the five youngsters named in the squad, Eben Etzebeth (lock), Coenie Oosthuizen (prop) and Trevor Nyakane (prop) have all been included, after missing the June Tests due to injury.

“I want to thank the franchise coaches for allowing their players to attend the camp, which we view as a very important part of our preparation,” expressed Erasmus.

“We’re very pleased that several players got the opportunity to gain Test experience during the June internationals and we are now looking forward to working with more of our most promising players, such as Damian, Salmaan, Marco, JD and Cobus. 

“It’s also good to have Eben and Coenie back with us after they’ve spent a considerable amount of time out of action because of injury. Once fit and available again, they will add considerable experience to the squad.” 


Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers)

Eben Etzebeth (Stormers)

Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)

Siya Kolisi (Stormers)

Wilco Louw (Stormers)

Frans Malherbe (Stormers)

Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers)

Salmaan Moerat (Stormers) *

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers)

Trevor Nyakane (Bulls)

Coenie Oosthuizen (Sharks)

JD Schickerling (Stormers) *

RG Snyman (Bulls)

Marco van Staden (Bulls) *

Cobus Wiese (Stormers) *


Damian de Allende (Stormers)

Warrick Gelant (Bulls)

Jesse Kriel (Bulls)

Embrose Papier (Bulls)

Handré Pollard (Bulls)

Ivan van Zyl (Bulls)

Damian Willemse (Stormers) *

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *