Schools Rugby

Schools Wrap: Grey College and Paul Roos emphatic in winning

Most of SA’s top schools were in action this weekend at either the Wildeklawer Festival in Kimberley or the Grey High Festival in Port Elizabeth. Grey College and Paul Roos were the two stand out teams. Paarl Boys High also had to fight to stay unbeaten in coming from 14-5 down to beat Affies 19-14.

Grey College on Friday put 45 points past HTS Drotsdy and on Monday accounted for Monument 36-21. Paul Roos were in demolition mode as they swatted aside Menlopark 68-25 on Saturday and on Monday whipped Waterkloof 63-12.

Paarl Gim also remained unbeaten with a thrilling 34-31 win against Monument on Saturday and 24-7 against Welkom Gim on Monday.

Paarl Boys High, unbeaten in South Africa against South African opposition for the past three years, hammered Waterkloof 53-10 early in the tournament. But on Monday late afternoon they had it tough against Affies. Boshaai produced a very strong last quarter to turn a 14-5 deficit into a 19-14 win.

Affies started the festival with a 38-14 win against Boland Landbou.

Glenwood were also in good form at Wildeklawer while at the Grey High Festival it was Selborne who made a huge impression.

Scoring breakdown courtesy of

Wildeklawer Festival (Kimberly)

Day 1 results:

Grey College (45) – Tries: Jan-Hendrik Wessels (2), Werner Gouws (2), Lesley Botha, De Wet Marias, Zander du Plessis. Conversions: Du Plessis (6).
HTS Drostdy (5) – Try: Cohen Jasper.

Affies (38) – Tries: Dieter Crafford, Dewald Donald, Janco Uys, George Oosthuizen, Stephin Alberts, Jason Scheepers. Conversions: Regardt Roets (4).
Boland Landbou (14) – Tries: Bertus Baard, Sebastian de Klerk. Conversions: Gavin Mills (2).

Day 2 results:

Paarl Boys’ (53) – Tries: Louwan Horn (3), Kian Meadon (2), Carlu Uys, Quan Horn, Adrian Alberts. Conversions: Meadon (5). Penalty: Meadon.
Waterkloof (10) – Tries: Boipelo Kgatlhanye, Eckhardt Boshoff.

EG Jansen (31) – Tries: Kyle Potgieter, Wesley Noeth, Tylon Kotze. Conversions: Aurelio Philander (3), Potgieter. Penalty: Philander.
Outeniqua (34) – Tries: Herschelle Otto, Matthew Thorne, Ruan Barnard, Eldon Lotz, Jaco Gerber. Conversions: Darren Fortuin (3). Penalty: Fortuin.

Glenwood (52) – Tries: Conan le Fleur (3), Aaron Le Rue (2), Jaden Hendrikse, Ruan Olivier, Rynhardt Jonker Conversions: Hendrikse (6).
Stellenberg (13) – Tries: Dylan de Leeuw, Tyrone Rose. Penalty: Nivan Petersen.

Welkom Gimnasium (31) – Tries: Keke Morabe (3), Ryan Davids, Keith van Aswegen. Conversions: Davids (3).
SARU Invitational (10) – Try: Storm Hanekom. Conversion: Lionel April. Penalty: April.

Paul Roos Gimnasium (68) – Tries: Remy Engelbrecht (3), Regan van der Westhuizen, Mink Scharink, Tiaan Pretorius, Kade Wolhuter, Cade Croy, Robbie Rodgers, JJ Kotze. Conversions: Kade Wolhuter (8), Juan Mostert.
Menlopark (25) – Tries: Jaco Britz (2), Bernard van der Linde. Conversions: Van der Linde (2). Penalty: Van der Linde.

Paarl Gimnasium (34) – Tries: Delarey Nel, Hendri Siebert, Stephan du Toit, Mark Etzebeth, Dawid Kellerman. Conversions: Charl Janson (3). Penalty: Janson.
Monument (31) – Tries: Dean Lategan, Morne Brandon, Tristan Dullisear, Henco van Wyk, Ruben Westraad. Conversions: Byron-Lee Wentink (3).)

Oakdale Landbou (56) – Tries: Janco Klinck (3), Henco Beukes (2), Trevino Gordon (2), Hendrik Victor. Conversions: Jan-Daniël Strydom (8).
Noord-Kaap (24) – Tries: Edwill Speelman, Godwill Romain, Nolan Coetzee, Tiaan Swanepoel. Conversions: Elzandro Fredericks (2).

Grey High Festival (Port Elizabeth)

Day 1 results: 

Woodridge 10 Otto Du Plessis 10
Grey Unicorns 26 Ithembelihle 10
Hudson Park 39 Louis Botha 24
St Alban’s 22 Muir 17
Parktown 26 Daniel Pienaar 19
Kingswood 56 St David’s 5
Marlow 20 Graeme 5
Queen’s 21 St Stithians 17
Garsfontein 32 Nico Malan 17
St Andrew’s 31 DHS 15
Jeppe 12 Dale 10
Selborne 29 KES 3
Grey High 38 St John’s 3

For a full wrap and review visit SA Rugby Magazine: Schools


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *