International Rugby, Springboks

Siya stays Springboks captain for Rugby Championship

Siya Kolisi, originally appointed captain for the three-Test series against England, will continue to lead the Springboks in the Rugby Championship. Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus confirmed a squad of 35, which includes three uncapped players.

Lions captain Warren Whiteley, who captained the Springboks in 2017, will return as No 8 in the enforced absence of Duane Vermeulen.

SA Under-20 flyhalf Damian Willemse is one of three uncapped players included in the Springbok squad.

Under pressure Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies has also made the squad as one of three No 10s.

Erasmus, SA Rugby’s Director of Rugby, has also picked uncapped loose-forwards Marco van Staden and Cyle Brink.

Eben Etzebeth is also back for the first time this year. Etzebeth, who captained the Springboks in the 2017 Rugby Championship, has not played since December because of injury.

Bath-based experienced openside specialist Francois Louw has also been selected.

“Eben and Warren have been out of the Bok mix for a while because of injury so it’s very pleasing to have them back in the squad, while Malcolm has regained his good form with the Lions since recovering from his injury,” said Erasmus. ‘We saw the benefit and impact of Willie le Roux and Faf de Klerk in the squad during the June internationals and I want ‘Flo’ to perform a similar role for us.’

Players who were not considered because of injury include Damian de Allende (Stormers), Warrick Gelant, Lood de Jager, Trevor Nyakane (all Bulls), Coenie Oosthuizen and Sbu Nkosi (both Sharks).

The Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship (in alphabetical order – name and surname, franchise/club, Test caps and points):

Forwards (20)

Cyle Brink (Loose forward, Lions, uncapped)

Jean-Luc du Preez (Loose forward, Sharks, 13, 10 – 2t)

Thomas du Toit (Prop, Sharks, 4, 0)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (Lock / Loose forward, Stormers, 36, 20 – 4t)

Eben Etzebeth (Lock, Stormers, 67, 15 – 3t)

Steven Kitshoff (Prop, Stormers, 27, 5 – 1t)

Siya Kolisi (captain – Loose forward, Stormers, 31, 20 – 4t)

Francois Louw (Loose forward, Bath, England, 57, 45 – 9t)

Wilco Louw (Prop, Stormers, 7, 0)

Frans Malherbe (Prop, Stormers, 19, 0)

Malcolm Marx (Hooker, Lions, 14, 15 – 3t)

Bongi Mbonambi (Hooker, Stormers, 16, 5 – 1t)

Franco Mostert (Lock, Lions, 21, 5 – 1t)

Tendai Mtawarira (Prop, Sharks, 101, 10 – 2t)

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Loose forward, Stormers, 4, 0)

Marvin Orie (Lock, Lions, 1, 0)

RG Snyman (Lock, Bulls, 3, 0)

Akker van der Merwe (Hooker, Sharks, 3, 0)

Marco van Staden (Loose forward, Bulls, uncapped)

Warren Whiteley (No 8, Lions, 17, 15 – 3t)

Backs (15)

Lukhanyo Am (Centre, Sharks, 3, 0)

Ross Cronjé (Scrumhalf, Lions, 10, 10 – 2t)

Faf de Klerk (Scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England, 14, 5 – 1t)

Aphiwe Dyantyi (Wing, Lions, 3, 5 – 1t)

André Esterhuizen (Centre, Sharks, 2, 0)

Elton Jantjies (Flyhalf, Lions, 26, 215 – 2t, 41c, 41p)

Jesse Kriel (Centre, Bulls, 32, 45 – 9t)

Willie le Roux (Fullback, Wasps, England, 44, 55 – 11t)

Makazole Mapimpi (Wing, Sharks, 1, 5 – 1t)

Lionel Mapoe (Centre, Lions, 12, 0)

Lwazi Mvovo (Wing, Sharks, 17, 30 – 6t)

Embrose Papier (Scrumhalf, Bulls, 2, 0)

Handré Pollard (Flyhalf, Bulls, 29, 246 – 3t, 42c, 46p, 3d)

Ivan van Zyl (Scrumhalf, Bulls, 3, 0)

Damian Willemse (Flyhalf, Stormers, uncapped)


Related Posts

4 thoughts on “Siya stays Springboks captain for Rugby Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *