Du Preez brothers delight in derby win against Stormers

Jean-Luc du Preez and Robert du Preez combined for a vital score to set up the Sharks victory against the Stormers in Durban.

Sharks centre Lukhanyo Am also delivered a strong display against a very disappointing Stormers team.

The Sharks won 24-17 after the Stormers led 7-3 at halftime.

The Stormers scored in the 38th minute to change ends ahead, but it was a score that did not reflect a first half in which the Stormers hardly fired a shot in anger.

The visitors, after an early Sharks second half try, regained the lead through some brilliant work from Damian Willemse, and on the hour led 17-10.

The Du Preez brothers (Robert and Jean-Luc) then combined (Robert with the offload and conversion and Jean-Luc with the try) to level the scores before man of the match Thomas du Toit rumbled over for what would be the match-winning try.

Jean-Luc du Preez (Gallo)


Sharks (3)

Tries: Lukhanyo Am, Jean-Luc du Preez, Thomas du Toit

Conversions: Robert du Preez (3)

Penalty: Du Preez

Stormers (7)

Tries: Raymond Rhule, Ramone Samuels

Conversions: Damian Willemse (2)

Penalty: Willemse

Follow live


  • The Sharks have won their last four games against the Stormers, the last and only time they won more against them was a five-game streak from 2006 to 2010.
  • Prior to kick off Robert du Preez has the best goalkicking success rate of any player to land 10+ goals this season (88%, 38/43).
  • Before kick off Jean-Luc du Preez has made 16 offloads so far, three more than any other player.

Sharks – 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Rob du Preez, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Ruan Botha (c), 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Stormers – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Craig Barry 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian De Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenge, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Kobus van Dyk, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 SP Marais, 23 JJ Engelbrecht.



Related Posts

Stormers hold Crusaders to dramatic draw after Lions win thriller
Waratahs edge out Reds, Blues end Chiefs hoodoo
Jaguares hand Hurricanes rare home loss