Super Rugby Match Day Live: Hurricanes hold out Chiefs

The Hurricanes held the Chiefs out at home to comfortably secure a 25-13 win.

Catch all this weekend’s matches live, as well as the scores and any missed out action at our Match Day Live Centre

Hurricanes vs Chiefs (Pre-match stats)

  • Six of the last seven games between the Hurricanes and Chiefs have been decided by a margin of eight points or fewer, with the Chiefs picking up four wins in that time.
  • The Chiefs are on the hunt for back-to-back away wins against the Hurricanes for the first time since a three-game run from 1997 to 2001.
  • The Hurricanes have won 16 of their last 17 games on home turf, including each of their last four.
  • Indeed, the Hurricanes have won seven of their last eight games at home against fellow New Zealand teams; however, their only loss in that time came against the Chiefs.
  • The Chiefs have won their last three New Zealand derbies on the bounce; the last time they won more in succession was a four-game stretch across the 2014 and 2015 campaigns.
  • The Chiefs have won their last two games away from home, the last time they won more was a five-game streak from February to April 2016.
  • The Hurricanes have conceded just six tries within their opposition’s opening three phases of possession this campaign, fewer than any other team.
  • The Chiefs have made more carries (126), metres (533), and clean breaks (18) per game than any other team this season.
  • Beauden Barrett has scored 10+ points in seven of his last nine games against the Chiefs, and has provided three try assists in his last four games against them.
  • Solomona Alaimalo has made 20 clean breaks this campaign, five more than any other player in the competition (teammate Damian McKenzie – 15).


15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Vince Aso, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Sam Henwood, 6 Brad Shields (captain), 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Toby Smith

Substitutes: 16 James O’Reilly, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Murray Douglas, 20 Reed Prinsep, 21 Richard Judd, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Wes Goosen


15 Charlie Ngatai (co-captain), 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Johnny Fa’auli, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao-Matau, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross.

Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Luke Jacobson, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Alex Nankivell

Related Posts

SANZAAR insists shorter Super Rugby format reports are ‘speculative’
Cane eyes 2019 Super Rugby return after neck break
South Africa international Du Preez joins brother at Sale