KEO News Wire

Tompkins to make first Wales start in only change for Ireland showdown

Nick Tompkins will make his first Wales start against Ireland in the only change from their opening Six Nations victory over Italy.

Wayne Pivac saw his reign as head coach begin in style with a dominant 42-0 win at the Principality Stadium and has opted to keep the majority of the same line-up for the tricky trip to Dublin.

Tompkins scored a fine solo try on his Wales debut last week and is set to partner Hadleigh Parkes in midfield, while George North moves from centre to a more familiar role on the wing.

Johnny McNicholl drops to the replacements to accommodate that alteration, but Wales are otherwise unchanged in the starting XV.

Gareth Davies, back from a groin injury, Rhys Carre, Owen Williams and Adam Beard come into the matchday squad at the expense of Rhys Webb, Jarrod Evans, Rob Evans and Cory Hill – the latter missing out with a leg complaint.

“We’ve made just one change after a winning start last weekend,” Pivac told the Welsh Rugby Union’s official website.

“Nick comes into the side, I thought he played exceptionally well when he came on last week so he deserves the start. George, who played really well last weekend at centre, moves back out to the wing.

“On the bench we have a few players back available. Rhys Carre impressed at the Rugby World Cup and he comes back in. Adam Beard comes in for Cory Hill who picked up a leg injury earlier this week, Gareth is fully fit and Owen Williams comes onto the bench and gives us a bit more cover.

“Momentum is important in the championship. It was nice to get a good winning start under our belts and hopefully we can build on that through the tournament.”

Wales team to face Ireland: 

Leigh Halfpenny, George North, Nick Tompkins, Hadleigh Parkes, Josh Adams, Dan Biggar, Tomos Williams; Wyn Jones, Ken Owens, Dillon Lewis, Jake Ball, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Aaron Wainwright, Justin Tipuric, Taulupe Faletau.


Ryan Elias, Rhys Carre, Leon Brown, Adam Beard, Ross Moriarty, Gareth Davies, Owen Williams, Johnny McNicholl. News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *